With a few exceptions, most employees are entitled to be paid at least $7.25 under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Depending on the state and city that you live in, you may be entitle to a higher minimum wage. Many states also have minimum wage laws that may differ from the federal minimum wage. Where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum wages.
New York $15.00 hour-After December 31, 2019, all employees in New York City must be paid at least $15.00 per hour. Outside New York City the minimum wage is $11.10 per hour. The minimum wage will continue to increase every year across New York State until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2020.
US Virgin Island $10.50 Effective June 1, 2018, the minimum wage in the U.S. Virgin Islands increased from $9.50 to $10.50 per hour for all employees with the exception of tourist service and restaurant employees. The V.I. Department of Labor enforces the Virgin Island labor code.
Minimum wage violations due to payroll deductions
When employers make deductions for fees, advances and private agreement, the average hourly rate for the work week should not drop below $7.25 or the local minimum wage. If the deductions result in an hourly rate that is below the minimum wage, the employer is in violation and will have to pay the difference and liquidated damages. It is important that you receive the proper minimum wage. This issue most frequently arises when you are a tipped employee. Rules for Tipped Employees